When clients call us about traffic-related issues – like speeding tickets – their first questions are usually:
- How many points will the ticket add to my license?
- Can I avoid getting points on my license?
- How long do the points stay on my license?
What are license points?
In South Carolina, points are the consequences of pleading guilty or paying off a traffic citation (rather than hiring an attorney to fight the ticket for you).
If you are given multiple citations, you run the risk of accumulating enough points to earn a license suspension.
Each individual charge carries its own allotment of points. Charges such as reckless driving or hit and run carry with them a substantially larger amount of points as compared to a speeding violation of ten miles or less over the limit.
What happens if I get too many points?
Your South Carolina driving privileges will be suspended if you accumulate 12 or more points.
Points Accumulation = License Suspension
- 12-15 = 3 months suspension
- 16-17 = 4 months suspension
- 18-19 = 5 months suspension
- 20+ = 6 months suspension
That is why it is so important to consult an attorney any time you receive a traffic citation. We can discuss the options that you have and the consequences you could face from the SC DMV. We will walk you through all the options at your disposal, whether that is working out a reduction in charges with the District Attorney or having you complete a driving school course.
If you are suspended for an accumulation of points, you may be able to challenge the suspension. After receiving a notice from the SC DMV, you will have 10 days to request a hearing. You should consult an attorney for this type of hearing, because not only can we prepare you, but we can also be in attendance to do everything under the law to get your license reinstated.
Beyond the suspension of your driving privilege, you also need to consider your insurance premiums. As you collect more points, insurance companies take note and could raise your premiums. If an attorney is able to help you dismiss or reduce your charges, it may help keep your premiums lower than if you decided to pay the ticket or plead guilty.
How can I get rid of or decrease the points on my license?
Attending a driving school training could reduce the number of points on your license, this is a one-time option; you should always consult an attorney to determine if this is the best option for your given situation.
Additionally, South Carolina points decrease on your record over time. After points are assessed to your record, after one year, they are cut in half.
Contact our office in South Carolina today.
We are now representing clients in South Carolina. If you have received a traffic citation and want to avoid license points, contact our experienced traffic law attorney, Ed Martin, as soon as possible.