An estimated 39 million families in the US are planning to travel this Thanksgiving, meaning no matter where you live, roads are likely to be more congested than normal. No one wants to spend their holiday dealing with the aftermath of an accident, but if you are injured in an accident, our personal injury attorneys can help you sort out your case.
Whether you are traveling to North Carolina from out of state, or you are sticking close to home, it’s important to take all of the necessary precautions to avoid an accident. Here are some tips to staying safe, not just during peak holiday traveling hours, but all season long!
Driving in Charlotte
Don’t Drive Distracted
Recent data finds distracted driving to be the number one cause of accidents in the Queen City, as in many other areas of North Carolina, so the first step to safely navigating the roads this holiday is to put down your cell phone!
Keep Construction Zones in Mind
Getting caught speeding in a construction zone can result in a hefty $250 fine in addition to court costs. Make sure you are paying attention to road signs that indicate construction zones, the presence of construction equipment and workers, closed and narrowed lanes, and shifts in the flow of traffic. This interactive map of Charlotte roads can help you plan your trip to avoid and be aware of construction zones.
Get Rid of Road Rage
You’re not the only one on the road that is eager to get to their destination. Road rage is dangerous, so if you get frustrated, take a few deep breaths. It is so much more important that you arrive at your destination late than not at all. This means no tailgating, weaving in and out of traffic, speeding, or failing to use your turn signal.
For more tips on driving safely in Charlotte, check out this blog.
DWI in North Carolina
DWI, or driving while intoxicated, is a serious offense in North Carolina, and DWI arrests around the Thanksgiving holiday are especially high. Don’t risk loss of life, freedom, and expense by driving under the influence.
The Cost of a DWI in North Carolina
A DWI charge in North Carolina can end up costing you a lot of money. A best-case scenario will see you out at least $500; in a worst-case scenario, you could face bills in the tens of thousands of dollars. For a breakdown of what the cost of a DWI conviction in North Carolina really is, read this blog before you ever decide to get behind the wheel while intoxicated.
Out of State Drivers
If you have an out-of-state driver’s license and are arrested for DWI in North Carolina, you won’t escape penalty. Most states share information about traffic violations and license suspensions through a national registry called the Driver License Compact.
For out-of-state drivers, DWI conviction will affect your North Carolina driving privileges. Most states won’t let you renew your license or get a new license if there are any outstanding holds or suspensions in any state, so you won’t be able to renew your license if your North Carolina driving privileges are suspended.
If you or someone you know has been arrested on DWI charges in North Carolina, it is important that you have the best representation right from the start. Give our experienced team of DWI attorneys a call as soon as possible.
We want you to have a great holiday in North Carolina. Don’t let traffic or DWI issues get in the way of an enjoyable holiday season.